Heart & Soul: Once Upon a Something / And Hell Followed With Them

20Mar11

On Friday 18th March, greenroom played host to a double bill of two wildly different but exciting pieces of theatre.

Trace Theatre’s Once Upon a Something was all heart. It genuinely made me laugh out loud during most of it. I’ve seen funny shows before but Trace Theatre displayed a sense of comic timing and physicality that is very rare. While Once Upon a Something wasn’t overtly autobiographical, there was a strong sense of personality bleed between the characters on stage and the people who played them that laced the humerous moments with vulnerability and a certain sadness that I could really connect with.

Beautiful.

 

The second show of the evening was Drunken ChorusAnd Hell Followed With Them. It was all soul. I have to be perfectly honest and say that I thought, up until the last 15 minutes or so, that I only liked the show because of its technical proficiency and cerebral qualities, but in the final moments of the show, it totally came together for me in a big way. And Hell Followed With Them is a stunning piece of work that is framed around atomised sequences of Lynchyian style horror, made all the more effective for the lack of overt narrative. Characters actions are repeated, complicating notions of who done what, but this slippage was one of the fascination aspects of the work for me.

And Hell Followed With Them is a work about soul. But it’s a difficult and disturbing reflection of the recesses of the soul we least like to look at, and perhaps, the parts of ourselves that we most fear.


 

Links:

Trace Theatre.

Once Upon a SomethingTour Dates.

Drunken Chorus.

And Hell Followed With ThemTour Dates.

2 Responses to “Heart & Soul: Once Upon a Something / And Hell Followed With Them”

  1. 1 Emelia

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could
    add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your
    new updates.


  1. 1 Hannah Nicklin » Performance in the Pub 3

Leave a Reply

